Cauliflower Lentil Soup

Cauliflower Lentil Soup ~ Annie's Cooking Lab

One of my goals this year is to start cooking with ingredients I haven’t used in the past. I’ve only eaten lentils a few times before, and I’ve never cooked with them, so I was excited to try them out. All the other ingredients in this soup are things I use frequently, so I thought this would be a good place to test the lentils.

The verdict? I didn’t love the lentils’ texture, but I certainly didn’t mind them and the flavor in the soup was great, it’s definitely one I’ll make again. Plus there is broiled cheese on top, and that’s always a good thing.

In addition to trying out new ingredients, my other goal is to survive this crazy cold winter we’re stuck in. A hot bowl of soup will definitely help accomplish that!

Cauliflower Lentil Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 tbl. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup carrots, chopped
  • 3 sprigs thyme
  • 1 cup brown lentils, rinsed and drained
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 3 cups cauliflower florets
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 oz. Gruyere, or other cheese of choice, shredded
Directions
  1. Heat the oil in a medium pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, celery, carrot and thyme. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are soft, about 8 minutes.
  2. Add the lentils and broth, bring to a boil then cover and simmer until the lentils are tender, about 30 minutes. Add the cauliflower and simmer for about 3 minutes until the cauliflower is beginning to soften. Remove the thyme, season with salt and pepper.
  3. Divide the soup between 4 oven-safe ramekins or soup bowls. Sprinkle the cheese on top of the soup, then place under the broiler until the cheese is melted and golden brown, 3-4 minutes. Serve immediately with additional thyme.
Makes: 4 servings
Source: Martha Stewart

6 responses

  1. A friend and I have a similar goal this year ~ We are too make dishes – one time a month – of which we have never attempted. and blog about it 🙂 I may have to come back to your site periodically for inspiration!! 🙂 This particular soup was beautiful ~ too bad it’s a little too hot already in Arizona for soup 😦

Please comment, I'd love to hear what you think!